2017 Goals And Reminiscing 2016

I like New Year’s because I like thinking about the passage of time. Time is a funny thing. Sometimes a minute seems to stretch on forever and sometimes a day seems to last a minute. I like thinking about what time means to the human race. It holds us back and spurs us onward. We only have so much time on this earth.Β I think that’s why time is fascinating to me. It influences so many thoughts and decisions.

Every New Year’s I like to look back on the past 365 days and revisit the good days as well as the bad ones. I haven’t had many horrible days this year. I’ve had a lot of fun. I’ve learned a lot. I’ve grown so much since January 1, 2016 that it’s almost unbelievable. I wonder if there will come a time when I don’t grow over the course of a year. I don’t think so. Everyone has room for growth no matter how old they are.

Last year I grew up a lot. I grew up in the normal way of becoming more mature. I always love/hate to look back at my old journals, because what I say in them is proof that I have both grown a lot and that I used to think really stupid things. πŸ™‚ Last year I thought a lot about growing up. I realized this year that I will be eighteen very soon. Thinking about becoming an adult, getting a job, getting a driver’s license, taking the ACT, and going to college has really become a large part of what I think about. I hate growing up sometimes and I used to hate thinking about those things, but now I’m used to thinking about those things and it’s not so bad.

Goals – 2017

I don’t like making New Year’s Resolutions, because I never keep them! I always forget that I’ve made them about three months into the year. But, you know, it’s tradition to make resolutions and so I’m going to try again. πŸ˜€

  1. Read fifty books
  2. Always have a Bible study plan for the month/read the Bible every day
  3. Watch all the Pixar movies (including the new ones)
  4. Less internet time
  5. Take the ACT
  6. Study up on colleges
  7. Get my temps
  8. Get a job… maybe??
  9. Remember:
    1. Patience
    2. Kindness
    3. Listening
    4. Authenticity

It’s quite a long list, but I think I can finish most of the items on it. The good thing is that I’m almost done withΒ The Two Towers,Β so pretty soon I’ll only have forty-nine books to read this year. πŸ˜‰

Happy New Year to everyone! I hope you all have a good year!

Leave a Reply

