So… Many… Movies

I watched a lot of movies last week. Whenever I thought, “I’ve wanted to watch that for a while,” We ended up watching it. It was a great week for movie watching. That’s for sure. 🙂 I don’t want to go into depth for all of the movies, so I’ll give each a rating and maybe talk about some of them in-depth.

Home Alone – 9/10 This is the first time I remember watching Home Alone. I’ve watched it before, but it was a long tine ago. It was hilarious and I find myself thinking about it and quoting it a lot. I’m hesitant to give it a 10/10, but only because it was my first time watching it.

The Santa Clause – 4/10 I didn’t really like this movie. I didn’t think it was that funny, but it wasn’t terrible and told an interesting story.

The Jungle Book – 6/10 I have one thought about this movie. Eh. It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t amazing either. I had no desire to watch it because it isn’t really the type of movie I enjoy watching, so that’s probably why I didn’t love it.

Rogue One – 7/10 I really wanted to absolutely love this movie, but there was something about it that I just didn’t love. It was this little, nagging feeling that kept coming back to be as I was watching it and when I thought about it later. This movie is darker than the other Star Wars movies, especially when compared to The Force Awakens which is hilarious. It’s a war movie, and because of that the tone is darker.

However, that isn’t the part of this movie that I have a problem with. I like the darker tone. It suits the subject matter of the movie. I could even ignore the jokes that seem forced. However, the character development in this movie is terrible… because there isn’t very much. I felt like I was trying to figure out who they were and what their motivations were the entire movie.

That being said, the last third of the movie was great. It was fast-paced, interesting, and the conclusion was perfect.

The Theory of Everything – 10/10 This movie is everything (lol) that a movie should be. There’s great development of character. It had twists and turns that I didn’t expect. It was sad and sweet. The story was great and kept me engaged. Ahhh! I love this movie. I want to watch it again.

Elf (twice lol) – 10/10 This movie is a family (and personal) favorite. We watched it twice last week because the first time no one was paying attention to it. So we watched it Christmas Morning… I think. It might have been Christmas Eve. Anyways, it was great. As always. Funny, full of nostalgia. 🙂

The Force Awakens – 10/10 – After Rogue One this movie was refreshing. It’s interesting, engaging, fast-paced (for the most part), and funny. I love the characters. They’re well-developed. I don’t care that it’s a “copy” of A New Hope because I think it’s good to call back the themes of that movie. I think it would have been difficult not to make this movie like A New Hope. I could say a lot more about this one… maybe I will.

A New Hope – 10/10 I love this movie. Of course. I’ve already talked about it here. It’s a great start to the original trilogy and a great intro into the world.

The Twelve Dates of Christmas – 6/10 I don’t remember this movie too well because I watched it late at night. It’s a Hallmark movie though, so how much can you expect from it really? lol I love cheesy movies though. 😀

Leave a Reply

