Things That Keep Me Sane

I have been writing a novel for the past few weeks. It is hard work to keep on top of things and make sure I get my to my goal of 1,667 words a day. I have woken up early and I have gone to bed late to get in a few extra words. I have spent hours that should have been spent on school, on writing, and I have been sitting at my keyboard literally falling asleep while writing.

Seriously though…

It’s so much fun. I’m not even exaggerating. It is one of the most fun things I have ever had the opportunity to do. It’s day twenty and I’m still having fun. It’s so strange, because I was sure that I would have burnt myself out by now. I was sure that I would have run out of ideas or at least fallen very behind.

I have learned a lot over the past few week, but the biggest lesson I’ve learned is that I’m a much more capable writer that I thought I was. I thought I was a pretender of a writer who wasn’t able to write anything more than a few lines a day. I have proven myself wrong and that’s the best feeling ever.

One of the reasons I’ve been able to write so well this month is because of all the crazy amazing writing resources I’ve been using. I’ve collected a few essential resources that I use everyday (or nearly everyday) while writing. These are the things that have kept me sane during this project. 🙂

  • Music – I have a YouTube playlist here where I put all of the music that reminds me of the various themes and emotions that I wish to infuse my novel with.
  • Sound – No, this isn’t the same thing as my last point. When I don’t want music, but I wish to listen to something, I simply go to mynoiseA great site with a lot great sound generators that block sound tremendously.
  • Writing – When I write I don’t use google docs, Word, or even Scrivener. I use a site called Writer. It really cuts down on distractions for me and the green on black theme hurts my eyes less than staring at a bright white screen. However, I do have my manuscript saved and divided up into chapters in Scrivener. 🙂 I think I’ll be using that more during the editing process.
  • Break time  – When I take a break from writing there are two places I go; books (The Two Towers) or YouTube. Over the past few weeks/days I’ve been watching a lot of Good Mythical Morning and this super cool channel that I just discovered called Super Carlin Brothers. They are pretty cool and talk about everything Disney, Harry Potter, Star Wars, and more. It’s awesome. 🙂

Happy NaNoWriMo day 20!!

Leave a Reply

