25,000 Words

Today I hit 25,000 words on my novel for NaNo. 🙂 I’m still so pumped to be doing this. I’m halfway through and my excitement for this whole process has yet to fade. I think it’s a good sign. My momentum is still going strong. I have lots of ideas and many of them I’m going to use in the near future.

One problem is that I’m not sure that my novel has enough for it to become a full length novel. My plot is pretty simple and I’ve gotten to 25k without really adding to this basic plot. I guess it’s time to mix things up a bit. 🙂 Other times, however, I know for sure that my novel is going to be way over 50,000 words. lol

I’ve realized over the past week and a half of doing NaNoWriMo that, while I could do NaNo without interacting with any other writers or getting involved in anything, it is a lot more fun to at least try and get involved with the many other writers on the NaNo website. It’s also really fun to participate in the biweekly virtual write-ins that NaNoWriMo hosts on YouTube. Write-ins are a few of my favorite parts of the week. I love the word sprints, the discussions, and the general atmosphere of writerly-ness that I find there. 🙂

While most of my attention is focused on NaNo I have found that stepping away from my computer and relaxing is very important. It’s almost as important as writing itself, for me at least. When I am constantly staring at the screen I end up with a bad headache and that weird feeling in my eyes when I’ve stared at the computer too much (I feel it right now actually).

So, I’ve been taking a lot of breaks, both from writing and from staring at the computer screen. I watch/listen to a lot of Good Mythical Morning. I listen to Owl City. I listen to a lot of Coldplay. I listen to a lot of Dodie Clark’s music. 🙂 I read a little. I knit a little. I play my ukulele a lot. I drink a lot of tea. I try not to waste time a lot, but end up wasting a lot of time. It’s funny how that works. 🙂

Anyways, that’s life right now and I’m enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

