More Music Loving

I have been surrounded by music all my life. My mom introduced me to Switchfoot, Shawn MacDonald, and the Newsboys. My dad’s love of Coldplay caused it to become my favorite band to this day. I listened to Baby Mozart as a toddler, and played make-believe with my siblings while classical music played in the background. Music influences and has influenced my life in a deep, personal way.

Some of the music I listened to as a young child:

  • Wherever We Go, Something Beautiful, and He Reigns by the Newsboys
  • All I Need, Take My Hand, and Gravity by Shawn MacDonald
  • I Dare You To Move, This Is Your Life, and Your Love Is A Song by Switchfoot
  • The Scientist, Shiver, and A Rush of Blood to the Head by Coldplay
  • The Show by Lenka
  • The Call by Regina Spektor (Narnia)
  • Falling in Love in a Coffee Shop by Landon Pigg

Now, I listen to a wide variety of music that I discovered on my own. I listen to everything from Erik Satie to Twenty One Pilots. Here are a few of my favorite songs to date:

  • Concerning Hobbits by Howard Shore (LOTR: The Fellowship of the Ring)
  • Gymnopedie 1 by Erik Satie
  • Guns for Hands by Twenty One Pilots
  • The Blues by Switchfoot
  • Oasis/Savannah/Baby by Relient K
  • I Don’t Get To Say I Love You Anymore by Tessa Violet
  • 6/10 by Dodie Clark
  • Warning Sign by Coldplay

I know I talk about music a lot on this blog, but that’s because it’s so important to me. 🙂 I love when music moves me, when it teaches me something, when it embodies a thought or feeling of my own in the music or the lyrics. I hope you like some of my music suggestions, and please share some of your own if you’re into music of any kind.

~ Claire

Leave a Reply

