Beautiful Books

I just finished The Fellowship of the Ring today and I’ve got to say… spectacular. It’s a masterpiece of a book that somehow combines a compelling plot, interesting characters, and amazing world-building into one book. It’s a phenomenal beginning to what I hope will be a phenomenal trilogy (i’m pretty sure it will be).

It has got me thinking about books and how much I love them.

“When I have a little money, I buy books; and if I have any left, I buy food and clothes.” – Erasmus

I have read a fair amount of books in my sixteen years of living, some of them have been good and some have been bad. Here are a few of the good ones:

  • The Penderwicks series by Jeanne Birdsall
  • Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery
  • Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Railway Children and The Enchanted Castle by E. Nesbit
  • Moon Over Manifest and Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool
  • The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Larklight series by Philip Reeve
  • Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson
  • Wildwood Dancing by Juliet Marillier
  • Destiny, Rewritten by Kathryn Fitzmaurice
  • Nancy and Plum by Betty MacDonald

These books are both new and old favorites. I would recommend any and all of them wholeheartedly. 🙂

I also have books that I wish to read in the near future. To name a few:

  • Redwall series by Brian Jacques
  • The Two Towers and The Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkein
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The History of Middle Earth (All 12 or so parts) by J.R.R Tolkein

What books are your favorites? Do you have any suggestions for me? I’d love to talk about your own love of books, so please leave a comment!

Claire 

 

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Books

  1. Oh, I love The Penderwicks! Also, I’ve read most of the Redwall books and they’re really good. Right, now I’m reading Winter, which is the fourth or fifth book in the Lunar Chronicles, and I really recommend them! I just advise not to read Fairest 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, The Penderwicks would have to be my favorite books of all time. 😍 Thanks for the note about Fairest, I’ll have to avoid it. 😊 It’s good to know that someone has the same tastes in books as I do.

      Like

      • Mine too! The fourth Penderwicks was my favorite of the four, though the second is always my go-to when I need something to read. 😉 Of course! I finished Winter last night and am now reading Stars Above, which is the collection of short stories. They are so well-written; you’ll definitely enjoy them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

