Outlining, Craziness, and the Fair

Ugh. I’m getting sick. I could feel it beginning yesterday and now it’s undeniable. A cup of lemon and honey tea should soothe my aching throat. 🍵

Yesterday was day one of the fair. I don’t have 4-H animals anymore, but somehow I managed to spend the whole entire day there. My mom works at the fair so it actually makes sense, but still. I love being at the fair. It’s interesting to see it in its different moods. From the peace and calm of early morning, to the craziness of  8pm-close, I’ve seen the fair throughout them all.

I walked around a lot yesterday, taking breaks to sit in the grand stands to read or write. We watched my friend show her chicken which won grand champion! It was a good time.

But…

Spending all day at the fair is not conducive to getting  a lot of writing done. Yesterday was also day one of “Write a Short Story in a Week.” I had to get to know the characters and write an outline. Ugh. This didn’t go too well. With all of the craziness and the people I couldn’t get much done. I can’t focus in a big crowd of people.

However, I did finish my outline and got to know my main character. That’s going to have to be good enough because today I’m going to start writing it. Hopefully I get something done when I go to the fair, but I don’t have much hope. I’ll just have to get as much done as possible before I leave.

I’m a bit worried about writing my story to be honest. I’m having all these doubts; my idea is stupid, my idea is too big, I won’t be able to finish it in time, etc. Writing a first draft is fun… sometimes. Sometimes it’s nerve-wracking and I’m afraid that I’m messing up the whole thing.

In Closing…

I’m excited that the fair is finally here. I love the crazy atmosphere and the fair people. I also can’t wait to write my story. I think it will be a good one. 🙂

Claire 

Leave a Reply

