A Month-Long Break from the Internet

Another break? Yes, another break indeed. This time from something that takes up a great deal of my time. I guess that’s one reason I’m going to take a break from the internet, but not the only reason. Before I go any further, I want to list out my rules.

  1. I AM going to use the internet for school
  2. I AM going to use the internet to write my blog posts and keep up with Kelli’s blog
  3. I AM NOT going to use the internet to watch any YouTube… at all
  4. I AM NOT going to use the internet to read articles about MBTI (Myer-Briggs Type Indicator), or anything else that I do for fun

The main reason I want to take a break from the internet is because I feel more and more that I don’t form my own opinions about things. I always say that I think for myself, but sometimes I’m too lazy too. Life moves quickly and sometimes it’s easier not to think. I know that there’s nothing wrong with hearing other people’s opinions about things; that can be quite a good thing. The problem is that I begin to take everything they believe and apply it to myself. It doesn’t even matter who the person is. I begin to think more and more like them.

This is where a feeling of fakeness creeps in. Sometimes I feel like I’m not real with anybody. I put on a front of being bubbly, prideful, and (to me) obnoxious. I have to focus hard on being real with others, or else I’ll stay in the background as the girl who talks a lot but never says anything.

This month (September, actually) I want to focus on being more real and vulnerable around my friends and family. I want them to see me for who I really am, on the inside underneath my shell. 🙂

So, for a month (beginning on September 1st) I am going to quit the internet. Ugh. It’s not going to be easy.

Buona notte miei amici (Good night my friends),

Claire

 

Leave a Reply

