Sunset

I watched the sun set over the beach. It’s funny how a little thing like a sunset is really not such a little thing. It’s a beautiful thing and there’s no better way to experience it then to see it by a large body of water. The way the light reflects off of the water and colors the clouds is amazing to see. It’s one part of nature that I have always been in awe of.

Yesterday, when I saw the sunset, I tried to ingrain it into my memory so that I could write about it later. Here is what I remember: large clouds skirting across the western sky, the sun quickly descending into the midst of them. I remember the riot of colors that exploded into being as the sun passed by the clouds. There were pinks, reds, oranges, and gold. I remember the grey-blue of the clouds and the white-tipped waves that rushed to the shore.

I can never see something as it truly is for long, because my imagination takes over and I see a new world. No matter how old and mature I get I never want to stop seeing things as they could be, or imagining things into being. Yesterday, I saw a cloud boat. It was floating near the water, a little to the east of the sunset, away from the docks and moorings of the cloud islands. It was colored pink and a tiny white flag could be seen fluttering in the breeze. Soon, it had sailed away into the evening sky.

There were lots of people down by the shore. There were kids playing in the water and on the dunes. They played in the sand and by the shore. The adults were snapping pictures and walking up and down the beach. I wondered what it would be like if no one worried about taking the perfect picture and we all just watched the sunset instead. Of course, I thought of Look On Up by Relient K. I was seeing that song play out in front of my eyes. Pictures are great, but they can never replace the beauty and wonder of seeing a real sunset.

Those are my thoughts. 🙂

Claire 

 

Leave a Reply

