Why I’m Still Working on School

puzzle.jpg

It’s July 8. The sun is shining down on my neighborhood full of kids that are busy enjoying their break from school. Well, not every kid is done with school. Hi there! It’s me, Claire, and while the rest of the country is on vacation I’m still working on school. I’m still working on my massive Omnibus IV, three subjects in one book (theology, history, and literature).

I’d be lying if I said I was excited to be doing school in July, but I would also be lying if I told you I wasn’t. It’s a strange thing, but yes, I still enjoy doing school this late in the year. Not all the time, but most of the time I still enjoy it. I enjoy getting up early to work on my latest essay or to read a few chapters of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. I love the books I’ve been getting to read, as well as the excuse to sit on the porch and read all day.

Of course, it truly isn’t all fun and games. It’s hard work focusing on school when everyone else is watching Star Wars and Zootopia, or spending a restful afternoon just drawing. Sometimes I want to quit, and sometimes I do, but most of the time I keep going. I fight through the distractions and find that not quitting is ten times more satisfying than quitting. There are times when I take breaks, but only after I’ve worked hard and accomplished a lot, or when I know that I need a break.

Now, school isn’t the only thing I’ve been doing lately. I’ve been reading for fun a lot. Right now I’m reading Farmer Boy and Coronation Summer (Angela Thirkell). Yesterday I started a puzzle. I love puzzles! There’s something so satisfying about fitting all the pieces together. 🙂 I have also been watching the original Star Wars trilogy and yesterday I watched The Phantom Menace, which was not as bad as I expected it to be. I mean, yeah, the acting wasn’t great and there were some cheesy jokes that I rolled my eyes at, but it wasn’t half bad. I can’t wait to watch Attack of the Clones. 

Happy Summer!

~Claire 

One thought on “Why I’m Still Working on School

  1. Haha doing school during the summer must be a homeschool thing. I am also doing school in the month of July and probably won’t finish till August. We had some crazy things go on in the month of June so that is why I got a little behind. I am going to catch up though I always do. I love star wars and Zootopia!! Those movies are so good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

