Look On Up

Look On Up – Relient K

This is such a good song on so many levels: the instrumentation (especially the guitar), the buildup to the climax, the lyrics, and the beautiful melody. All the elements just blend together and create this chill musical experience.

Look On Up is about putting down our technology, or really any distraction, and remembering that real life still exists. The message is great, but the way the lyrics portray the message is beautiful.

Have you ever tried to photograph the moon?
Well I have too, I have too
Find it funny how it never turns out right
It’s like someone poked a pinhole in the canvas of the night

I love this song. It reminds me that technology can never be as amazing as creation. We can’t take pictures of the moon that look just right. Something is always just a bit off.

To me, this song means even more than that. There are so many things that can distract us from living our lives. When I look around at everything, sometimes, it all goes in slow motion. I see everything but I don’t feel apart of it anymore. Those are the moments when I realize that life is much more than going through the motions. Life is so much more than pretending and trying to fit in. Life is so much more than surviving. Life is for looking up. Life is for doing and loving. Life is for precious moments and changing lives.

This leads to looking around and realizing that not everyone knows this. I look around and see all the people. I wonder if they’ve thought about life yet. I wonder if they realize how precious time is. I wonder if they see the hurt they cause in other people. I wonder if they even care. When I look at myself I see someone who is desperately trying to find their way, and I wonder if everyone else feels like that too.

Look up into the night sky and let it sink it. This is real life. This is your life. Live it well.

John 10:10

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

Leave a Reply

