Favorite Writing Resources

It was just a few short years ago, well five years ago, that I got really serious about writing. Before 2011 I would staple pieces of paper together and write stories on the pages. I’ve progressed a bit beyond that by now, and I have discovered a whole host of writing resources along the way.

One of the big things that I found helpful when I was just beginning to take my writing seriously, were lists of resources. I always loved to know what other writers used to guide them. That’s what I’m doing today, compiling a list for those writers that are just starting out and in need of a helping hand.

  1. Spilling Ink: A Young Writer’s Handbook, by Anne Mazer and Ellen Potter – I guess this book mostly applies to young writers. I first read it when I was about 13 and I loved it instantly. It was full of useful knowledge and didn’t talk down to me at all. It think that’s one of the most important parts about books for younger writers, not talking down to them. I really appreciated this book and I still do today.
  2. Elisabeth Grace Foley at The Second Sentence – I can’t remember exactly how I found Elisabeth’s blog, but I am so glad that I did. I discovered her blog in August 2014. I literally can’t believe that it was that long ago, but it was. Over the two years that I have been following her blog, Elisabeth has taught me so much about writing. I can’t thank her enough for really fueling my passion for writing and being a great Christian author to boot. 🙂
  3. MyNoise™ – MyNoise is a site full of soundscapes, white noise, and noise-blocking generators. There are so many generators that I never tire of listening to them. Using these generators for writing really helps me to get into it and not get distracted.
  4.  Write To Done – This is a great site chock full of great articles on writing.
  5. Young Authors Guide  – This page is a great way to find sites that will help to get new/young writer’s work out there.
  6. Jennifer Freitag – This woman writes beautifully and she has given me lots of great writing info.

I’m sure I could come up with many more, but these are some of the ones that have made the biggest impact on me. Please tell me about some of your favorite writing resources in the comments!

Leave a Reply

