Bigger than Me

Another super late post, I know. 😩

Sometimes, I have to step back and realize that I am more than myself. This world is bigger than me. My life is not the beginning and end of everything.

It’s easy to get caught up in the petty things of life and forget about what life is really about. I know because it happens to me all the time. I get wrapped up in the moment. I forget that what I say can hurt others or isn’t really what I believe. In the moment I’m not who I really am. I’m an alternate version of myself that can’t think clearly and says whatever seems best in the moment. I see it in myself and I see it in others. We forget (or we don’t know in the first place) about what is important in life.

At my age (16), it’s easy to get caught up in being young and forget that we have the rest of our lives to live. We don’t think that there’s anything beyond ourselves. I wish we would more often think about what we stand for, what we believe in, and how to help and love others.

In our society this “helping and loving others” is portrayed as pretty lame and a sure way to get nowhere in life. If love is lame then where are we as a society? It’s time to stop worrying about this passing world and start worrying about loving others and loving the life that we’ve been given.

There is something so much bigger than ourselves. There is something so much bigger than all of us people on earth. If we know this, than why don’t we do something about it? If God created all of us, proceeded to love us, and then proceeded to showcase his love for us through Jesus, why aren’t we doing something about it?

Love is the movement
Love is a revolution
This is redemption
We don’t have to slow back down

~  Love is the Movement, Switchfoot

Leave a Reply

