The Best of Switchfoot

I’ve been listening to Switchfoot almost exclusively for the past few weeks (with a little Owl City thrown in there occasionally), and last week I finally made a playlist on YouTube called “The Best of Switchfoot” so I’d have a place to go when I just wanted my favorites. Here’s the “track listing.” 🙂

  1. The Blues
  2. Yesterdays
  3. Hello Hurricane
  4. Always
  5. Yet
  6. Gone
  7. The Economy of Mercy
  8. Paparazzi
  9. Innocence Again
  10. The Beautiful Letdown
  11. The Shadow Proves the Sunshine
  12. Love Alone is Worth the Fight
  13. This is Your life

I thought I’d talk about these songs (at least a few of them), because they really are the best. 🙂

The Blues

This is one of my favorite songs of all times. It’s sad, but it has a happy ending. Or, at least, a hopeful ending. The music immediately struck me as melancholy, but gorgeous. I just… this song is so good.

Is this what they call freedom? Is this what they call pain? Is this what they call discontented fame? It’ll be a day like this one, when the world caves in. – The Blues 

 

Hello Hurricane

This song…

Hello hurricane
You’re not enough
Hello hurricane
You can’t silence my love
I’ve got doors and windows
Boarded up
All your dead-end fury is
Not enough
You can’t silence my love, my love ~  Hello Hurricane 

My favorite part of this song is the very beginning, because the way it fades in always makes me feel like I’m floating through the clouds at daybreak.

And the lyrics… One hundred percent great and uplifting and encouraging.

 

Always

What can I say?

These are the scars deep in your heart
This is the place you were born
This is the hole where most of your soul comes ripping out
From the places you’ve been torn

And it is always yours
But I am always yours

The message in this song is beautiful. I didn’t used to understand it, but now that I do… I don’t even know how to say it. This song holds so many deep truths.

Yet

This song and the two before this have all been on the album Hello Hurricane, which, in my opinion is the best Switchfoot album. Anyways, it naturally follows that this song is amazing. The whole album is about fighting, surviving, and pressing on. This song perfectly describes just what the album is trying to say.

I’m losing ground and gaining speed
I’ve lost myself or most of me
I’m headed for the final precipice

But you haven’t lost me yet
No, you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll sing until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me yet ~ Yet 

another quote

If it doesn’t break your heart
It isn’t love
No, if it doesn’t break your heart
It’s not enough
It’s when you’re breaking down
With your insides coming out
That’s when you find out what your heart is made of ~ Yet 

 

Gone

This song is a masterpiece. I love the Switchfoot songs like this one. They portray a serious message, but in a catchy, fun way. 😀

She told him she’d rather fix her makeup
Than try to fix what’s going on
But the problem keeps on calling
Even with the cellphone gone
She told him that she believes in living
Bigger than she’s living now
But her world keeps spinning backwards
And upsidedown
Don’t say so long, and throw yourself wrong
Don’t spend today away
Cuz today will soon be

Gone, like yesterday is gone,
Like history is
Gone, just trying to prove me wrong
And pretend like you’re immortal ~ Gone 

 

This is Your Life

Ah, this song is one that I remember very fondly from childhood and that only now do I realize what it means. This song is about not missing out on life, spending every day like it’s your last, and being who you’re meant to be. 🙂 It’s definitely a song that makes me want to make the most of every day. 🙂

Yesterday is a kid in the corner
Yesterday is dead and over

This is your life, are you who you want to be?
This is your life, are you who you want to be?
This is your life, is it everything you dreamed that it would be?
When the world was younger and you had everything to lose. ~ This is Your Life 

This song also represents a common theme with the others (such as Gone) on its album, The Beautiful Letdown, which I believe is all about not missing out on chances in life, living it to the fullest, and living it the right way. 🙂 Just my thoughts on it anyways.

I didn’t mention all of the songs on my list, but I mentioned my very favorites.

The Point of this Post

Switchfoot is a great band. I always knew this, but as I’ve grown older their songs have now become a mixture of nostalgia and finally understanding what they all mean.

3 thoughts on “The Best of Switchfoot

  1. Excited to see this- we listened to switchfoot growing up in my house all the time. It’s been a while but now I really want to hear those songs again. Thanks for picking my next playlist!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Genius of Adam Young – Day to Day

Leave a Reply

