Contentment

Peace and contentment

Some days, I find this easy. I wake up on these days, and the whole world is a beautiful place. I find school easy to focus on, people easy to get along with, God easy to talk to, and beauty easy to find.

Other days Most days though… I struggle to find peace and contentment. I struggle to keep my temper. I can’t see anything beautiful in anything. School becomes either a mindless chore, or something that I simply can’t focus on. I struggle to talk to God, most of the time because I feel so… guilty.

I don’t know what to do about it, because I won’t do anything about it. That’s the problem. I want to to see the beauty in the simple things. I want to help others and love life. I want to live for something more than myself. Some days, I just can’t. 

I think there is a problem in our society. Well, there are many, but the one that I notice the most is the lack of contentment. All we see is what we can get and there is so much we can get.

We fail to see the beauty in the little things.

We only see the cars and not the people inside. All those people with lives, problems, opinions, happiness, and souls. All we see are the problems that these people create for us. Why can’t we see them as hurting, struggling, living, breathing humans? Why can’t we see the hurting behind the eyes of people? Why can’t we see the brokenness in the way they walk? Why do we see them and not feel something other than passiveness or annoyance?

We never see the bees buzzing around spring flowers. We never stop to just admire how all the colors of all those flowers can blend together in a single field and look so beautiful. Not one is out of place and none of the colors clash. Why do we never slow down for even a second to look at the trees and admire them for being what they are? Can we not stop, for even a second, and see how perfectly all of creation fits together like a puzzle?

Why can’t we look and see the details in everyday life? Why can’t we notice the color of the shutters on a house, or the tininess of a baby’s fingernails, or the way clouds look at different times of the day? Maybe some of those things seem unimportant, but they’re not. These little things make up big things. Little things are never unimportant. It’s only when we stop noticing them that we ever think that way.

What are the answers to the questions? We can’t see these things because we let “bigger” things get in the way. We let life get in the way, our own busyness, of the important things. Loving others and realizing that simplicity is absolutely stunning, is something that can change the way you look at the world.

I guess I’m saying all of this because I’ve realized that people and their lives are important. I’ve realized that the simplest things in life are some of the most fulfilling. Yet, I always try to fill my life with busyness again. It’s a constant struggle.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Ephesians 4:8

One last thing… None of us can do this by ourselves. We all need God’s help. So ask for it.

Leave a Reply

