Star Wars… I love it already!

Today I watched Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope, and I loved it. Just… ahhh!!! I loved it.

Honestly, I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of Star Wars before I watched it. A science fiction movie from the 70s…yeah, sounds great. But it seriously is. If you haven’t watched Star Wars but have heard a lot of good things about it, than watch it now, because it truly is a great movie. I even know all of the spoilers and I still loved it!

That said… where to begin?

The Amazing-ness of the plot

The plot is really interesting, even though I know what’s going to happen. There is a lot of world-building, but that doesn’t really bother me because it is so…subtle. It’s really… smooth. It isn’t in my face and everything just seems so.. natural! It did take me a while to really get into the movie, but after that it was great! The story arc was great. I loved the character development, and even the “fighting” scenes. I usually kind of zone out, but these scenes didn’t do that for me. I especially loved the Battle of Yavin, because you just keep waiting for Han to come back, and then he does, and…I just loved it! XD

The Amazing-ness of the Characters!

The characters are so, so great! I cannot say enough good things about them. One of the best things about the characters is that they aren’t done growing by the end of the first movie (of course not!).  They all have their flaws and problems, but I love them!

  1. Luke

luke1

Luke. 🙂 He’s great, isn’t he? He’s earnest and hard-working. He never gives up and is so loyal to his friends and family. One of my favorite things about him is his idealism, because I’m idealistic and that really makes it easy to identify with him. He’s so great! I really hope I get to see his character development throughout the next movies, because he’s a great character.

2. Leia

leia1

As of the ending of the first movie, I don’t know a lot about Leia yet… except that she is totally awesome! She really is! 😀 But I don’t know her yet. She’s another character that I really hope to get to know better in The Empire Strikes Back. 

3. Han Solo

lovethisjerk

Oh Han, you are a jerk sometimes, aren’t you? Yes yes, Han is a self-centered, money-loving, jerk, but he experiences more growth in the movie than (I believe) any other character. Yes, he’s selfish, but he cared enough about his friends that he came back in the end to help them. I know he has a long way to go, but if he changed too much than he’d be another idealistic character like Luke, and we don’t need two of those. Admit it, Han is hilarious and awesome, even if he is annoying and his default reaction to everything is to shoot it! XD

4. Other Characters

Those are the main three, but the other characters in this movie are great as well. CP30 is so, so, so, so very annoying for most of the movie, but he turns around in the end. Still, annoying though. 🙂 Obi Wan… I like his character alright. He definitely is a mysterious character, but because I already know the spoilers, it kind of ruins it. I do like the mysteriousness of his character, but you don’t really get to know him very well before he, you know, “dies”. Chewbacca, another great, funny character. 🙂 A lot of the characters are funny, and I think it’s great, because sometimes science fiction can get bogged down. I loved the lightness in the movie.

My Rating

All-in-all, A New Hope exceeded my expectations. The writing, the acting, the plot, the characters, even the special affects are great! This movie is so. incredibly. awesome! I will definitely be re-watching it (when I finish the other movies that is), so I give it five out of five stars! I CANNOT WAIT TO WATCH THE NEXT ONE!!

Streak: 12 days

Leave a Reply

