Cranky Grandmas (Story Pt.2)

It’s me again with another installment of that story I started on Thursday! It’s shorter than last time, but I will (probably) have part three up tomorrow to make up for it. I love hope you like it. 

9

“Love of mine someday you will die, but I’ll be close behind. I’ll follow you into the dark…” The soft music of my alarm woke me up to a view out the western window. It was raining. I lay there for a while and watched it fall. “If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks, than I’ll follow you into the dark.”

When the song ended I forced myself into a sitting position and let my feet rest on the cool floorboards. The rain made a nice drumming noise on the roof and the sounds of my family waking up could be heard faintly. At first it was only a few creaks, than a shower turning on, and finally… “Charles, Charles!” I heard my grandma call for my dad, “The television is broken. THE TELEVISION IS BROKEN!”

For a few moments I sat listening to my dad “fixing” the TV and all was blissful forgetfulness about the day before… Wait. What had happened yesterday? I couldn’t quite… Then a pit came back into my stomach as it all came back.

I leaned against the window. There was no way I was going to be able to meet James today. It was raining and (quick weather check) it was going to rain all day. The more I thought about it the more uneasy I became. Why had James looked so different. Why was it something that he couldn’t tell me?

A rap at the door startled me. “Julie, it’s your breakfast day,” My little sister Lori said from the other side of the door, “And hurry. Grandma didn’t eat much dinner last night.”

“I’m coming.” I mumbled and went downstairs, glad of something to do. Lori was in the kitchen when I came down, making coffee. “Where’s mom?” I asked. She was usually up by 6:30 and it was 7:00.

“Sick in bed. She has a fever or something,” Said Lori, shrugging like it was no big deal.

“What about Jack and Hannah?” I asked, they were our older siblings.

“Jack left for work. Remember? He has a job now,” Said Lori in her snappy, matter-of-fact way, “And Hannah is upstairs with mom.”

“This is just great,” I sighed, plopping myself down in a chair at the table, “Just great.”

“Grandma’s order is sausage, biscuits, eggs, and… a mocha latte, “Lori said, ignoring my general dismay, “And mom just wants toast.”

I sat at the table, staring out the window and imagining all the other things I wanted to be doing. Ugh. I took a deep breath in and let it out. Time to make biscuits.

Half and hour later found me scurrying around the kitchen, hurrying to make breakfast before Dad left and Grandma started screeching. Then end product was passable. I decided that runny eggs and slightly doughy biscuits went well with blackened sausage on a day when my mind was definitely elsewhere. Grandma did complain, (though she loved my mocha latte) but that was to be expected.

After everyone had eaten Grandma went into the living room to watch her one of her morning talk shows, Lori was picked up for a play date with a friend, Hannah left for her job, mom was resting comfortably in her room, and I was alone in the kitchen. The hum of the TV was loud again. I looked around at the dirty dishes and decided to deal with them later.

I hurried up the two flights of stairs, but knew immediately that something was up before I opened the door. I could hear someone playing the guitar. Really badly. I opened the door a little and stuck my head in. James.

(Streak: Six Days)

Leave a Reply

