Welcome to a Brand New Day

blog7Have you ever thought about the fact that today is a new day?

Right now, at 6:54 AM, I am sitting at the kitchen table writing this post but outside a new day is beginning (a cold one, but a new one 😉 ), not yesterday or the day before, but today. Sometimes I think (sarcastically), “Yay, a whole new day for me to screw up…again!” Please don’t think like me, because seeing the world like that is really sad. Last year I discovered this verse:

“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life.” Psalms 143:8 NIV

I remember that the first time I read this verse I was having a bad day. I probably wasn’t really having a bad day. I was probably feeling down because nothing was going the way I wanted it to. Regardless, this verse instantly became a favorite of mine. Every time I would read it I’d put a star next to it. It never fails to put me at peace.

I think the reason why this verse really spoke to me is because every morning really does bring word of God’s unfailing love. The sun rise, with all of its color, screams of God’s love. He loves us so much that He created things that we can enjoy, just for the sake of enjoying! God’s love can be found in how gracious He is to me. I screw up all the time. Seriously. All the time. But God still loves me, and always gives me a forgiveness hug when I ask for one. 🙂

God’s forgiveness is amazing, but I never would have received it if it weren’t for Jesus.  What He did while He was on earth, loving others, serving others, and dying for everyone. His sacrifice is the greatest act of love. ever. Everyday, when I wake up, I have an assurance within myself that I am safe and secure in Jesus, and it’s all because of God’s unfailing love. 

 

Leave a Reply

